Midwestern Miscellany

Editorial Committee
Marcia Noe, editor, University of Tennessee - Chattanooga

Marilyn Judith Atlas, Ohio University
William Barillas, Independent Scholar
Robert Beasecker, Grand Valley State University
Robert Dunne, Central Connecticut State University
Scott Emmert, University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh
Philip Greasley, University of Kentucky
Jeff Hotz, East Stroudsburg University
Mary DeJong Obuchowski, Central Michigan University
Patricia Oman, Hastings College
Rachael Price, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
Steven Trout, University of South Alabama

Midwestern Miscellany is published twice a year by the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature. Typically, a guest editor selects a theme, topic, or author and issues a call for the issue. Often those whose essays are selected for the special issue present them on panels organized by the guest editor at the annual meeting of the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature, or at the Society’s panels at MMLA, MLA, PCA, and/or ALA. Members who would like to be a guest editor for an issue of Midwestern Miscellany should contact Marcia-Noe@utc.edu.

Past Issues
Click here to view the full, searchable text of past issues of Midwestern Miscellany.



View past issues, submissions guidelines, and the editorial committee.

Midwestern Miscellany
View past issues, publication schedule, and submission guidelines.

SSML Newsletter

Go here to see Newsletters from the early days of the Society.


The Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature exists to support the study and dissemination of work in Midwestern literature, art, film, and scholarly study.

Main Pages




SSML Resources






Midwestern Miscellany

SSML Newsletters