MidAmerica XXXVIII

The Yearbook of the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature

DAVID D. ANDERSON, FOUNDING EDITOR
MARCIA NOE, EDITOR

The Midwestern Press
The Center for the Study of
Midwestern Literature and Culture
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1033

2011

Copyright 2011
by the Society for the Study of
Midwestern Literature
All rights reserved

Printed in the United States of America

No part of this work may be reproduced without permission of the publisher

MidAmerica 2011 (ISSN: 0190-2911) is a peer-reviewed journal that is published annually by The Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature.

This journal is a member of the Council of Editors of Learned Journals



SOCIETY FOR THE STUDY OF MIDWESTERN LITERATURE

http://www.ssml.org/home

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Marcia Noe, Editor, The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Marilyn Judith Atlas Ohio University

William Barillas University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse Robert Beasecker Grand Valley State University Roger Bresnahan Michigan State University

Robert Dunne Central Connecticut State University

Philip Greasley
Nancy McKinney
Mary DeJong Obuchowski
Ronald Primeau

University of Kentucky
Illinois State University
Central Michigan University
Central Michigan University

James Seaton Michigan State University

Jeffrey Swenson Hiram College

Joseph J. Wydeven Bellevue University

EDITORIAL ASSISTANTS

Molly Arnold Michael Jaynes
Christina Gaines Jen Litton
Blake Harris Gale Mauk

Ashley Lane Hopkins Jeffrey Melnik Emily Hurst Heather Palmer

MidAmerica, a peer-reviewed journal of the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature, is published annually. We welcome scholarly contributions from our members on any aspect of Midwestern literature and culture. Except for winners of our annual poetry and prose contests, we do not publish poems, short stories, or creative nonfiction. If you would like to submit a scholarly essay of not more than 15 pages or 3,750 words to be considered for publication in MidAmerica, please send a hard copy of your essay to Marcia Noe, 535 Elinor Street, Chattanooga, TN 37405. If your essay is selected for publication, you will then send your manuscript by electronic attachment to marcia-noe@utc.edu after making any required and/or desired changes. Please follow the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook. In documenting sources, use parenthetical citations within your essay and a list of works cited. If you include discursive notes, they should be endnotes that use Arabic, not Roman, numerals. Use no headers, footers, or page numbers. Do not put your name on your essay. Include your contact information in your cover letter to Marcia. Be sure to give your institutional affiliation.

In Honor of John Rohrkemper

PREFACE

On May 12, 2011, members of The Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature gathered in East Lansing for its forty-first annual meeting. Highlights included panels on young adult Chicago literature, the Midwest Fantastic, the fiction of Gene Stratton-Porter, and the poetry of the late Rane Arroyo. Paul Stebleton received the Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry Prize, James Marlow won the Paul Somers Prize for Creative Prose, and Andy Oler was the winner of the David Diamond Student Writing Prize.* The Mark Twain Award went to Louise Erdrich, and MidAmerica Award winner John Rohrkemper put on a staged reading of his play, *God Bless the Shadows*.

SSML is currently operating at a loss due to increased expenses in publishing its journals and convening its annual symposium. Major gifts from the late Jane S. Bakerman and David D. Anderson have enabled us to continue our work while we seek to establish a more stable financial footing for the work ahead. SSML is also grateful to the following members and friends who have made contributions in addition to their dues. As more such contributions are received, and earlier ones are discovered in searching the archives, we will add more names to this Honor Roll: Walter Adams, Robert Beasecker, Gwendolyn Brooks, Ray B. Browne, Mary Ellen Caldwell, Louis J. Cantoni, G.B. Crump, David Diamond, Bernard F. Engel, Kenneth B. Grant, Philip A. Greasley, Theodore Haddin, Donald Hassler, Janet Ruth Heller, Ted Kennedy, Jean Laming, Barbara Lindquist, Larry Lockridge, Loren Logsdon, Bud Narveson, Marcia Noe, Mary Obuchowski, Tom Page, E. Elizabeth Raymond, Herbert K. Russell, James Seaton, Guy Szuberla, Doug Wixson, Melody Zajdel, and the family and friends of Paul Somers.

*The 2009 winner of the David Diamond Prize was misidentified in *MidAmerica 2010*. He is Richmond B. Adams, for his essay, "'Holy Moses!' : *The Pit*, Curtis Jadwin and the Documentary Hypothesis." We apologize for this error.

CONTENTS

Preface			
Catch up on Midwestern Literature		8	
SSML Conference		9	
Open Tuning The Gwendolyn Brooks Prize Poem	Christian Knoeller	10	
A Bride of the Great War The Paul Somers Prize for Creative F	Prose David B. Schock	12	
Old Blue Hat The David Diamond Student Writing Prize	Scott Michael Atkinson	19	
Up in Michigan: A Review Essay	Marcia Noe	24	
Mentoring American Racial Identity: Sherwood Anderson's Lessons to	Лargaret E. Wright-Cleveland	28	
The Narrative Impulse in the Works of			
Charles E. Burchfield	Joseph J. Wydeven	41	
Opposition Over Here: World War I Ficti	on		
in The Midland	Scott D. Emmert	59	
Craig Rice's Chicago and J.J. Malone	Guy Szuberla	69	
"Living Fifty-fifty": Gender Dynamics in the Plays of Rachel Crothers	n David Radavich	82	
Questioning Ideals of Midwestern Escapi Philip Roth's Indignation	ism: Leigh Gardner	93	
Dante's Divine Comedy and Bradbury's Farenheit 451: Dynamic Stories of A	wakening,		
Enlightenment, and Redemption	Keith Tookey and		
	Loren Logsdon	104	
Annual Bibliography of Midwestern Literature 2009	Robert Beasecker	118	
Recipients of the Mark Twain Award		181	
Recipients of the MidAmerica Award	Back	Back Cover	