## **MidAmerica XXXVI**

The Yearbook of the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature

DAVID D. ANDERSON, FOUNDING EDITOR MARCIA NOE, EDITOR

The Midwestern Press
The Center for the Study of
Midwestern Literature and Culture
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1033

2009

Copyright 2009
by the Society for the Study of
Midwestern Literature
All rights reserved

Printed in the United States of America

No part of this work may be reproduced without permission of the publisher

MidAmerica 2009 (ISSN: 0190-2911) is a peer-reviewed journal of the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature.

This journal is a member of the Council of Editors of Learned Journals



## SOCIETY FOR THE STUDY OF MIDWESTERN LITERATURE

http://www.ssml.org/home

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

David D. Anderson, Founding Editor, *MidAmerica* Marcia Noe, Editor, *MidAmerica* 

Marilyn Judith Atlas Ohio University

William Barillas University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse Robert Beasecker Grand Valley State University

Roger Bresnahan Michigan State University

Robert Dunne Central Connecticut State University

Philip Greasley
Nancy McKinney
Mary DeJong Obuchowski
Ronald Primeau
James Seaton
University of Kentucky
Illinois State University
Central Michigan University
Michigan State University

Joseph J. Wydeven

Joseph J. Wydeven

Bellevue University

Hiram College

Jeffrey Swenson Hiram College

EDITORIAL ASSISTANTS .

Lauren Olivia Brown
Blake Harris
Emily Hurst
Michael Jaynes
Gale Mauk
Heather Palmer
Beth Ellen Roberts

Paige Keown

MidAmerica, a peer-reviewed journal of the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature, is published annually. We welcome scholarly contributions from our members on any aspect of Midwestern literature and culture. Except for winners of our annual poetry and prose contests, we do not publish poems, short stories, or creative nonfiction. If you would like to submit a scholarly essay of not more than 15 pages or 3,750 words to be considered for publication in MidAmerica, please send a hard copy of your essay to Marcia Noe, 535 Elinor Street, Chattanooga, TN 37405. If your essay is selected for publication, you will then send your manuscript by electronic attachment to marcia-noe@utc.edu after making any required and/or desired changes. Please follow the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook. In documenting sources, use parenthetical citations within your essay and a list of works cited. If you include discursive notes, they should be endnotes that use Arabic, not Roman, numerals. Use no headers, footers, or page numbers. Do not put your name on your essay. Include your contact information in your cover letter to Marcia. Be sure to give your institutional affiliation.

In Honor of Loren Logsdon

## **PREFACE**

On May 7, 2009, members of the Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature gathered in East Lansing for its thirty-ninth annual meeting. Highlights included three sessions celebrating the centennial of Gene Stratton-Porter's A Girl of the Limberlost and the Mark Twain Award Panel on the work of Scott Russell Sanders. At the awards banquet on Friday night, the Society presented two David Diamond Student Writing Prizes: to Stephanie Carpenter for "Doctor and Patient," and to Matthew Low for "John Neihardt Writes: Textual Appropriations of Indigenous Storytelling." The co-winners of the Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry Prize award were Ed Morin for "Yes" and Roy Seeger for "Diminishing Returns." The Paul Somers Prize for Creative Prose went to Dawn Comer for "Raised in a Corn Palace." Loren Logsdon received the MidAmerica Award and the Mark Twain Award went to Scott Russell Sanders.

SSML is currently operating at a loss due to increased expenses in publishing its journals and convening its annual symposium. A major gift from the late Jane S. Bakerman has enabled us to continue our work while we seek to establish a more stable financial footing for the work ahead. SSML is also grateful to the following members and friends who have made contributions in addition to their dues. As more such contributions are received, and earlier ones are discovered in searching the archives, we will add more names to this Honor Roll: Walter Adams, David D. Anderson, Robert Beasecker, Gwendolyn Brooks, Ray B. Browne, Mary Ellen Caldwell, Louis J. Cantoni, G.B. Crump, David Diamond, Bernard F. Engel, Kenneth B. Grant, Philip A. Greasley, Theodore Haddin, Donald Hassler, Janet Ruth Heller, Ted Kennedy, Jean Laming, Barbara Lindquist, Larry Lockridge, Loren Logsdon, Bud Narveson, Marcia Noe, Mary Obuchowski, Tom Page, E. Elizabeth Raymond, Herbert K. Russell, James Seaton, Guy Szuberla, Doug Wixson, Melody Zajdel, and the family and friends of Paul Somers.

## **CONTENTS**

	Preface		
	The Time I Took Patsy Higgins Up to Holy Red The Gwendolyn Brooks Prize Poem	eemer Mary Minock	8
	Fella with an Umbrella: Finding Joy on the Auti- The Paul Somers Prize for Creative Prose	sm Spectrum  Dawn Comer	11
	"Holy Moses!": <i>The Pit</i> , Curtis Jadwin and the Documentary Hypothesis The David Diamond Student Writing Prize	Richmond B. Adams	28
	Wright Morris's Chicago The Jill Barnum Midwestern Heritage Prize Essay	Joseph J. Wydeven	41
	Cincinnatus, Kris Columbus, Dad Detroit, and Other Cartoon Icons	Guy Szuberla	52
	Metafiction on Main Street: Garrison Keillor's Lake Woebegon Days	Rod Rice	70
	No Homecoming for Soldiers: Young Hemingwa Return to and Flight from the Midwest	ay's John J. McKenna	83
	Ray Bradbury's Tale of Two Cities: An Essential for a Technologically Dominated Society	l Message Loren Logsdon	) 93
	"We Represent the End of Race": Uncovering La Hughes's Jeremiadic Discourse	angston Willie J. Harrell, Jr.	107
Macabre and Modern Sourcery: "The Cat that Lived at the Ritz" and "The Apothecary" as Antecedents of William Faulkner's "A Rose for Emily" David FitzSimmon		128	
	Annual Bibliography of Midwestern Literature 2007	Robert Beasecker	142
	Recipients of the Mark Twain Award		200
	Recipients of the MidAmerica Award	Back	Cover